Review: Throne of Glass Series/spoiler free

throne of glass series by sarah j maas

Follow me:

I started this series after reading Sarah J. Maas’ A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOTAR and ACOMAF), both of which I loved. The next book in the series was not out and I thought I might as well join the craze and start the Throne of Glass series. I enjoy fantasy books and YA books are easy and fast paced reads, which is exactly what I wanted. I knew I can not go wrong. I knew I’ll love it. And I was right! I love the way she writes, the romances, the action and the characters. I read all of the existing books (5) in quick succession and if not for work and life in general I would have read day and night, without stop! Sleep is overrated! I was hooked.

So if your answer is YES to these questions, you should pick these books up! ASAP

  • Do you love YA?
  • Do you love fantasy?
  • Do you love an epic fantasy?
  • Are you into strong badass female characters?
  • Do you like twisted plots and fast paced books?
  • Are you into reading about magical places and beings?
  • Are you into both action and romance?
  • You like reading about friendships?

If you’re still nodding, keep on reading. Shortly, the series is about Celaena Sardothien, a female assassin, who at the start of the book is imprisoned in a slave mine. She lives in a kingdom, corrupted by an evil ruler and the crown prince will offer her freedom if she fights to be the king’s champion. This is basically what the first book is about. A little bit standard and rather predictable but hang in there because we are about to find out loads more about her, which will take the story to a much more interesting level.

Here are the books in the series:

  1. Throne of Glass
  2. Crown of Midnight
  3. Heir of Fire
  4. Queen of Shadows
  5. Empire of Storms
  6. Book 6, expected release 2018

If you’re still not convinced read on. Here are the main reasons why I loved these books. First of all, they are so easy to read and incredibly fast paced. So if you’re in a reading slump, or you just read a heavier classic and you need to air your head, so to speak, these are the books to read. Even though the first book has a simple and predictable plot, I could not put it down. I loved the characters and the romance but most of all I loved Celaena.

Celaena is what your grandmother would call troubled youth. She is a badass assassin. She had a hard life but she is not giving up. She wants to be free and she will do what it takes to reach her goal and she won’t take sh** from anyone. She also likes chocolate and pretty dresses. So OK, she is a bit vain but considering what she’s been through I can live with that. Plus, she is the best friend ever. We will see her grow as a person and her journey is fantastic.

Also, Celaena is a fellow book nerd. How awesome is that?! And the crown prince, Dorian, is a book nerd too. That’s all I need to know.

Other main characters include Chaol, the captain of the guards and Prince Dorian. Both of whom will fall in love with Celaena, obviously. Did you expect anything else? This is not a mind-blowingly original plot, nor characters but it will still make you weep in frustration if the next book in the series is not lined up on your bedside table.

And yes, there is a love triangle. And yes, there the following books will complicate things even further romance wise, but you will love it. Love triangles are the thing in YA series, they are part of the YA book series writing recipe. But don’t be sad, as in the end everyone will be happy, except the bad guys. I don’t want to mention the whole cast as it would be a little spoilery, but there are witches, fae, magical beings and places. Everything you image a great epic fantasy should have.

The series is basically a fairy tale where the heroes have to fight the evil to get their happy endings. There are a lot more characters introduced as of the third book, if I remember correctly. There are multiple POVs introduced, which give more dynamism to the story. It was a little weird as up until book 5 we read the story from Celaena’s perspective. I think this will help in wrapping up the story. The whole series feels like a chess play, where all characters move towards the final battle. Each character has a role to play and all have their own little stories. You will end up loving them and rooting for their happy endings.

As you read through them you will see the world building explode basically. Information is revealed gradually as we progress and find out more about Celaena. So don’t worry if you feel a bit restricted in the palace in the first book. You will journey out of it, to other parts of the country and across the sea to other worlds. It’s like the beginning is zoomed in and you only see Celaena but as we go one we gradually zoom out and meet other people and places. Which only means you will mostly not be bored. I say mostly because there are some slow paced parts (OK, OK maybe even whole books) but it is all necessary. Some (most) of these books are fast paced action driven. And then one or two slower ones which are character driven. These are needed to make the story whole, to make us care a bit more and understand the world better. So patience people, patience!

It all sounds so cheesy but as I said, it is an all-consuming read. You will want to read faster and read all night and not go to work/school (I wish!). After finishing, you will want to curl up under your cover and wish you could leave this world and join Celaena’s crew in the final battle… which will happen in the final book… two years from now… oh, the agony of waiting!

Follow me:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.